Main Content

ADA Amendments Act Final Regulations

A free workshop will be available by audio conference and webinar Monday, April 4, 2011, on the final regulations to the ADA Amendments Act. Visit http://www.adaconferences.org/ADAAA to register. In connection with the development of these regulations, the Autistic Self Advocacy Network provided testimony in 2009 regarding the concerns of Autistic workers. The ADA National Network prepared the announcement reposted below.

The ADA National Network (DBTACs) is pleased to announce a special session on ADA Amendments Act Final Regulations. Join us as we learn more about the ADA Amendments Act of 2008 (ADAAA) final regulations released by the Equal Employment Opportunity Commission (EEOC) on Friday, March 25, 2011.

Are you asking the same questions or have you experienced some of the same issues as many of your colleagues or friends based on what was published in the proposed regulations versus the final regulations?

• “Human resource professionals have raised concerns about the proposed list of presumptive disabilities covered under the ADA, changes in the treatment of “working” as a major life activity, and the new terminology such as “transitory and minor.””

• “The courts have issued rulings under the law without the advantage of the regulatory guidance typically available from EEOC.”

• “People with disabilities want to know if they are now covered under the new definition of disability.”

We’ve all been waiting for them. Now is the time to learn how the new ADAAA EEOC regulations will affect people with disabilities, employers, and the workplace on a day to day basis.

DATE: Monday, April 4, 2011

TIME:
2:00pm-4:00pm Eastern
1:00pm-3:00pm Central
12:00pm-2:00pm Mountain
11:00am-1:00pm Pacific
10:00am-12:00pm Alaska 8:00am-10:00am Hawaii

SPEAKER: Sharon Rennert, Senior Attorney Advisor, Office of Legal Counsel, Equal Employment Opportunity Commission (EEOC)

FORMAT:

Option 1: Toll Free Telephone Number (Limited # of lines available)
Option 2: Web Based Webinar Platform (Audio will be transmitted via the internet)

Individuals will be required to identify which format they will be using for the session during the registration process. Once the limit has been reached for the telephone option individuals will still have the option to choose the Web Based Webinar Platform. Real-time captioning will be provided through the web based webinar platform.

SUBMIT QUESTIONS IN ADVANCE: Due to the high volume of participants anticipated for this session a limited number of individuals will be able to ask questions during the session. Thus, we are providing an opportunity for individuals to submit questions for consideration by the Speaker in advance. The speaker will use the questions submitted in advance to structure the presentation and ensure that the issues of most importance to the audience are included.

REGISTRATION: Online registration is available at http://www.adaconferences.org/ADAAA

SESSION INSTRUCTIONS: Registered participants will receive specific instructions for accessing the session via email 72 hours prior to the session. This session is being coordinated by the DBTAC-Great Lakes ADA Center and the DBTAC-Southeast ADA Center on behalf of the ADA National Network. Questions regarding the session or registration process should be directed to adaconferences@adagreatlakes.org or 877-232-1990 (V/TTY).

This entry was posted in Employment and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.
Skip to top

More information