Main Content

2015 Day of Mourning Vigil Sites

In the past five years, over seventy people with disabilities have been murdered by their parents.

These acts are horrific enough on their own. But they exist in the context of a larger pattern. A parent kills their disabled child. The media portrays these murders as justifiable and inevitable due to the “burden” of having a disabled person in the family. If the parent stands trial, they are given sympathy and  comparatively lighter sentences, if they are sentenced at all. The victim is disregarded, blamed for their own murder at the hands of the person they should have been able to trust the most, and ultimately forgotten. And then the cycle repeats.

For the last four years, ASAN, ADAPT, Not Dead Yet, the National Council on Independent Living, the Disability Rights Education & Defense Fund, and other disability rights organizations have come together at local vigils across the country to mourn those losses, bring awareness to these tragedies, and demand justice and equal protection under the law for all people with disabilities.

On March 1st, we will come together again, and we ask you to join us.

Current Vigil Sites:

Tempe, AZ
Facebook event
Xander McDonald, xmcdnd@gmail.com

Berkeley, CA
Facebook event
Brent White, brent@alacosta-acat.com
The Disability Rights Education & Defense Fund (DREDF), co-sponsor

Los Angeles, CA
Facebook event
Daniel Obejas, DTObejas@gmail.com

Sacramento, CA
Facebook event
Stacy Shaw, asansacramento@gmail.com

Washington, DC
Facebook event
Jean Winegardner, jwinegardner@autisticadvocacy.org

Atlanta/Decatur, GA
Facebook event
Kit Mead, silverbrook.aka.silva@gmail.com

Chicago, IL
Facebook event
Steph Ban, sban@uchicago.edu

Cambridge, MA
Facebook event
Finn Gardiner, fgardiner@autisticadvocacy.org

Ypsilanti/Ann Arbor, MI
Facebook event
Jonas Blauer, jmblauer@gmail.com

Twin Cities, MN
Facebook event
Gretchen Johnson
Chris Juhn, chrisjuhnphotography@yahoo.com

Edison, NJ
Carole Tonks, ctonks@adacil.org

Albuquerque, NM
Facebook event
Star Ford, starluciaford@gmail.com

Albany, NY
Facebook event
Shain Neumeier, s.m.neumeier@gmail.com
Yosef Treitman, treitmaniac@gmail.com

New York City, NY (Manhattan)
Facebook event
Sam Barwick, s-barwick@hotmail.com

New City, NY
Facebook event
Jason Ross, jasonross18@gmail.com

Rochester, NY
Facebook event
Diane Coleman, dcoleman@notdeadyet.org

Portland, OR
Facebook event
Phoebe Loomis, P.Loomis.PDX@gmail.com

Philadelphia, PA
Facebook event
Xeno Washburne, akudr@sas.upenn.edu

Pittsburgh, PA
Facebook event
Jess Hughes, jess.fridy@gmail.com

Houston, TX
Facebook event
Morénike Giwa Onaiwu, mgiwa.onaiwu@gmail.com

Seattle, WA
Facebook event
Kit Albrecht, albrecht.kit@gmail.com

Beloit, WI
Facebook event
Reid Caplan, caplanr@beloit.edu
Beloit Cross-Disability Coalition, co-sponsor


 

CANADA

New Westminster, BC
Facebook event
Alanna Whitney, alannarosewhitney@yahoo.com

HUNGARY

Budapest
Facebook event
Kylie Boazman, kylie.boazman@gmail.com

UNITED KINGDOM

Preston, Lancashire (DUE TO UNIVERSITY POLICY, CHILDREN UNDER 16 NOT PERMITTED.) 
John Meghen, JMPMeghen@uclan.ac.uk


 

 

VIRTUAL VIGIL

A virtual vigil will be held online for those unable to make it to an in person location.
Savannah Logsdon-Breakstone, SBreakstone@AutisticAdvocacy.org
Facebook | Website

 

This entry was posted in Autistic Community and Allies, Disability Rights and Neurodiversity, Preventing Abuse and Bullying and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.
Skip to top

More information