Main Content

Disability Day of Mourning Vigil Sites

In the past five years, over one hundred and eighty people with disabilities have been murdered by their parents.

Tuesday, March 1st, the disability community will gather across the nation to remember disabled victims of filicide–disabled people murdered by their family members or caregivers.

We see the same pattern repeating over and over again. A parent kills their disabled child. The media portrays these murders as justifiable and inevitable due to the “burden” of having a disabled person in the family. If the parent stands trial, they are given sympathy and  comparatively lighter sentences, if they are sentenced at all. The victims are disregarded, blamed for their own murder at the hands of the person they should have been able to trust the most, and ultimately forgotten. And then the cycle repeats.

But it doesn’t have to.

For the last five years, ASAN, ADAPT, Not Dead Yet, the National Council on Independent Living, the Disability Rights Education & Defense Fund, and other disability rights organizations have come together to mourn the lives lost to filicide, bring awareness to these tragedies, and demand justice and equal protection under the law for all people with disabilities.

On Tuesday, March 1, 2016, ASAN and the wider disability community will be holding vigils to mourn the lives of those we’ve lost and bringing awareness to this horrific trend of violence against our community.

On March 1st, we will come together again, and we ask you to join us.

If you are interested in organizing a vigil in your community, please sign up here.

Current vigil sites:

Virtual Vigil
Savannah Logsdon-Breakstone, sbreakstone@autisticadvocacy.org

USA

ARIZONA

Tucson, AZ
Tom Racey, cornelius41389us@gmail.com

CALIFORNIA

Berkeley, CA
Brent White, brent@alacosta-acat.com

Port Hueneme, CA
Karen Reilly, karen@oceanviewinfo.com

Sacramento, CA
Stacy Shaw, shawstacys@yahoo.com

DC

Washington, DC
Rachel Best, best_rachel@hotmail.com

GEORGIA

Atlanta, GA
Bennett Gaddes, bennettgaddes@comcast.net

ILLINOIS

Chicago, IL
Steph Ban, sban@uchicago.edu

MASSACHUSETTS

Cambridge, MA
Finn Gardiner, fgardiner@autisticadvocacy.org

Springfield, MA
Jennifer Lee, jlee@stavros.org

MINNESOTA

Twin Cities, MN
Gretchen Johnson, gretchensj2@earthlink.net

MISSOURI

Kansas City, MO
Spencer Hunley, spencer.hunley@gmail.com

NEW HAMPSHIRE

Hanover, NH
Sarah Dresser, dresser.sarah@gmail.com

NEW JERSEY

Edison, NJ
Carole Tonks, ctonks@adacil.org

New Brunswick, NJ
Aaron Zisook, autisticadvocacynj@gmail.com

NEW YORK

New York, NY
Elizabeth Rosenzweig, rosenzweig.ea@gmail.com

Purchase, NY
David Cusack Johnson, david.cusackjohnson@purchase.edu

Rochester, NY
Ericka Jones, ejones@cdrnys.org

Troy, NY
Melanie Hecker, mhecker@youthpowerny.org

Yonkers, NY
Emma Graydon, egraydon@gm.slc.edu

NORTH CAROLINA

Nashville, NC
Joshua White, jwhite188@st.nashcc.edu

PENNSYLVANIA

Philadelphia, PA
Tess Speranza, spert@sas.upenn.edu

Pittsburgh, PA
Cori Frazer, asanpgh@gmail.com

York, PA
Luke Anderson, nonlinearluke@gmail.com

TENNESSEE

Franklin, TN
Chad Beadles, justmechadlyb@gmail.com

TEXAS

Plano, TX
Julie Espinoza, jespinoza@reachcils.org

VIRGINIA

Blacksburg, VA
Disability Alliance, Disabilityalliancevt@gmail.com

Williamsburg, VA
Haley Outlaw, hnoutlaw@email.wm.edu

WISCONSIN

Beloit, WI
Reid Caplan, caplanr@beloit.edu

CANADA

New Westminster, BC
Alanna Whitney, alannarosewhitney@gmail.com

Winnipeg, MB
Baden Gaeke Franz, violetsunflower16@gmail.com

This entry was posted in Autistic Community and Allies, Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.
Skip to top

More information