Main Content

Sign up to be a Day of Mourning Vigil Site Coordinator

In the past five years, over four hundred people with disabilities have been murdered by their parents, relatives or caregivers.

On Wednesday, March 1st, the disability community will gather across the nation to remember these disabled victims of filicide – disabled people murdered by their family members or caregivers.

In the year since our last vigil, our community has lost 100 more people to filicide. These are just the cases that we are aware of – since we began monitoring this issue, we learn about more murders every week. We read the victims’ names, see their photographs, and gather what information we can about their lives. The criminal justice system has continued to give lighter sentences to parents and caregivers who murder disabled children. And we have seen both news and entertainment media continue to portray these murders in a sympathetic light.

We hold the Day of Mourning vigils to draw attention to these injustices, to commemorate the lives of victims, and demand justice and equal protection under the law for all people with disabilities. This would not be possible without the vital work of our volunteer site coordinators. Click here to learn about what site coordinators do, or to sign up to lead a vigil.

For the last six years, ASAN, ADAPT, Not Dead Yet, the National Council on Independent Living, the Disability Rights Education & Defense Fund, the American Association of People with Disabilities, and other disability rights organizations have come together to send a clear message that disability is not a justification for violence. We’ll be at our local vigils on Wednesday, March 1st – and we hope to see you there.

If you’re interested in leading a vigil in your area, please sign up to be a Day of Mourning vigil site coordinator.


2017 Vigil Sites
(this list is updated as new site coordinators sign up)

USA

ARIZONA
Tucson, AZ
Tom Racey, cornelius41389us@gmail.com

CALIFORNIA
Berkeley, CA
Dolores Tejada, dolorestejada@gmail.com

Fresno, CA
Jennifer Davis & Eve Hinson, Sunshinebtfly@mail.fresnostate.edu; writefirstdaily@gmail.com

Los Angeles, CA
Daniel Au Valencia, danielauvalencia@gmail.com

Port Hueneme, CA
Karen Reilly, karen@oceanviewinfo.com

Sacramento, CA
Ashley Robertson, asansacramento@gmail.com

San Jose, CA
Shannon Fitzgerald, Shannonfitzgerald17@mittymonarch.com

FLORIDA
Orlando, FL
Harry Boggs, hscott43@hotmail.com

Tampa, FL
Cat Daly, cdalyjordan@gmail.com

GEORGIA
Atlanta, GA
Bennett Gaddes, bennettgaddes@gmail.com

ILLINOIS
Chicago, IL
Amanda Burkhart, asanchicagoland@gmail.com

KENTUCKY
Louisville, KY
Mickey Ochoa, mickeyochoa@protonmail.com

MASSACHUSETTS
Boston, MA
Finn Gardiner, fgardiner@autisticadvocacy.org

Springfield, MA
Jennifer Lee, jlee@stavros.org

MICHIGAN
Grand Haven, MI
Asa Rosema, asarosema@gmail.com

MISSOURI
Kansas City, MO
Spencer Hunley, spencer.hunley@gmail.com

NEVADA
Reno, NV
Deidre Hammon, csdlibrary@gmail.com

NEW HAMPSHIRE
Hanover, NH
Sarah Dresser, dresser.sarah@gmail.com

NEW JERSEY
Edison, NJ
Carole Tonks, ctonks@adacil.org

NEW YORK
Albany, NY
CJ Chapman, casey.jean.chapman@gmail.com

Bronxville, NY
Emma Graydon, egraydon@gm.slc.edu

New York City, NY
Elizabeth Rosenzweig, rosenzweig.ea@gmail.com

Purchase, NY
Michelle P Mitchell, michelle.mitchell@purchase.edu

Rochester, NY
Ericka Jones, ejones@cdrnys.org

NORTH CAROLINA
Asheville, NC
Christiania Mullis, cmullis@unca.edu

Rocky Mount, NC
Joshua White, whitejd4@appstate.edu

OREGON
Portland, OR
Rebekah Hunter rebekahahunter@gmail.com

PENNSYLVANIA
Pittsburgh, PA
Cori Frazer, cori@autisticpgh.org

York, PA
Luke Anderson, nonlinearluke@gmail.com

TEXAS
Austin, TX
Manuel Diaz, md94physics@utexas.edu

The Woodlands, TX
Kristin Ongeri, elephantkristin@gmail.com

TENNESSEE
Nashville, TN
Chad Beadles, justmechadlyb@gmail.com

Pulaski, TN
Candace Henshaw, daemion2011@hotmail.com

UTAH
Salt Lake City, UT
Stacy Stanford, stacykstanford@gmail.com

VIRGINIA
Manassas, VA
Mary Lopez, mlopez@ieccil.org

Williamsburg, VA
Haley Outlaw, hnoutlaw@email.wm.edu

WASHINGTON STATE
Seattle, WA
Zack Siddeek, Zsiddeek@yahoo.com

WASHINGTON, DC
Ma’ayan Anafi, maayan.anafi@gmail.com


CANADA

Vancouver, BC
Vivian Ly & Sam McCulligh, vivianly4@gmail.com; sam5@shaw.ca

Winnipeg, MB
Baden Gaeke Franz, asanwinnipeg@gmail.com

Halifax, NS
Alex Kronstein, alexkron@live.ca

Guelph, ON
Jennifer Howell, howell@alumni.uoguelph.ca

London, ON
LAST (London Autistics Standing Together), LondonAutistics@gmail.com


AUSTRALIA

Brisbane
Caitlin McGuren, caitlin.mcguren@gmail.com

Sydney
Robin Eames, robin.m.eames@gmail.com

This entry was posted in Autistic Community and Allies, News and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.
Skip to top

More information