Main Content

Find your local Day of Mourning vigil site

In the past five years, over 550 people with disabilities have been murdered by their parents, relatives or caregivers.

On Thursday, March 1st, the disability community will gather across the nation to remember these disabled victims of filicide – disabled people murdered by their family members or caregivers.

In the year since our last vigil, our community has lost over 100 more people to filicide. These are just the cases that we are aware of – since we began monitoring this issue, we learn about more murders every week. We read the victims’ names, see their photographs, and gather what information we can about their lives. The criminal justice system has continued to give lighter sentences to parents and caregivers who murder disabled children. And we have seen both news and entertainment media continue to portray these murders in a sympathetic light. We hold the Day of Mourning vigils to draw attention to these injustices, to commemorate the lives of victims, and demand justice and equal protection under the law for all people with disabilities.

Since 2012, ASAN, ADAPT, Not Dead Yet, the National Council on Independent Living, the Disability Rights Education & Defense Fund, the American Association of People with Disabilities, and other disability rights organizations have come together to send a clear message that disability is not a justification for violence. We’ll be at our local vigils on Thursday, March 1st – and we hope to see you there.

If you cannot attend a vigil in-person, please consider taking part in our Virtual Vigil.

2018 Vigil Sites

USA

ARIZONA
Phoenix, AZ
Tara Marshall, azautisticadvocate@hotmail.com

CALIFORNIA
Claremont, CA
Donnie TC Denome, cdenome@students.pitzer.edu

Long Beach, CA
Christana Koch, kochchristiana388@gmail.com

Merced, CA
Megan Lambert, meganlambert1998@gmail.com

Napa, CA
Espi, pranzadia@gmail.com

Port Hueneme, CA
Karen Reilly, karen@oceanviewinfo.com

San Francisco, CA
George Fuller, george162@icloud.com
Siobhan Travers, cascade314@gmail.com

FLORIDA
Miami, FL
Unitarian Universalist Congregation of Miami, outreach@uumiami.org

Orlando, FL
Florida ADAPT, cjdoghouse1@comcast.net

GEORGIA
Tucker, GA
disABILITY LINK, greenpogue@disabilitylink.org

IDAHO
Moscow, ID
Elizabeth Stevens, revehstevens@gmail.com

ILLINOIS
Champaign, IL
Kathleen Downes, kathleendownes93@gmail.com

Chicago, IL
Euree Kim and Timotheus Gordon, Jr, aaca.chicagoland@gmail.com

KANSAS
Valley Center, KS
Sabrina Percival, applesforcasefoundation@gmail.com

MAINE
Portland, ME
Meg Dyke, meganndyke@gmail.com

MARYLAND
College Park, MD
Blair Chisholm, terpsfordisabilityjustice@gmail.com

MASSACHUSETTS
Salem, MA
Saoirse Tilton and Hala O’Keeffe, hala@inclusionadvocacy.org

NEVADA
Reno, NV
Center for Self Determination, Csdlibrary@gmail.com

NEW JERSEY
Ewing, NJ
Elyan Chuba, chubaa1@tcnj.edu

Lakewood, NJ
Melanie Clark Mogavero, PhD, mmogavero@georgian.edu

NEW YORK
Albany, NY
Gregg Beratan, gberatan@cdrnys.org

Bronxville, NY
Amanda Wall, amandanw@charter.net

Rochester, NY
Ericka Jones, ejones@cdrnys.org

Syracuse, NY
Elly Wong, emwong@syr.edu

NORTH CAROLINA
Asheville, NC
Evelyn Chiang, echiang@unca.edu

Boone, NC
Autistic Students & Allies of the high country, whitejd4@appstate.edu

PENNSYLVANIA
Collegeville, PA
Jennifer Stevenson, jstevenson@ursinus.edu

Pittsburgh, PA
Pittsburgh Center for Autistic Advocacy, jess@autisticpgh.org

TEXAS
Fort Worth, TX
Sarah Christian, sarahechristian@yahoo.com

Galveston, TX
Katherine Sanger, ksanger@fromtheasylum.com

Houston, TX
Maria Town, Maria.town@houstontx.gov

TENNESSEE
Johnson City, TN
Courtney Johnson, johnsoncp@etsu.edu

UTAH
St. George, UT
Barbara Lefler, barbara@rrci.org

VIRGINIA
Manassas, VA
Independence Empowerment Center, info@ieccil.org

Williamsburg, VA
Alanna Van Valkenburgh & Chloe How, alannavanvalkenburgh@gmail.com

WASHINGTON STATE
Seattle, WA
Zack Siddeek, Zsiddeek@yahoo.com

WASHINGTON, DC
Kings Floyd, kingsley.floyd@gmail.com

WISCONSIN
Beloit, WI
Beloit Cross-Disability Coalition, Kosikac@beloit.edu

Milwaukee, WI
Autism Society of Southeastern Wisconsin, emilyl@assew.org

CANADA

Vancouver, BC
Vivian Ly & Sam McCulligh, vancouverautistics@gmail.com

Winnipeg, MB
Ron Salahub, rsalahub@mts.net

Halifax, NS
Alex Kronstein, alexkron@live.ca

Newmarket, ON
Mandy Klein, mandy@acts319.com

Toronto, ON
Anne Borden, aborden23@gmail.com

AUSTRALIA

Brisbane
Kit, caitlin.mcguren@gmail.com

Sydney
Robin Eames, robin.m.eames@gmail.com

This entry was posted in Events, News and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.
Skip to top

More information