Main Content

Day of Mourning 2014

Saturday, March 1st, the disability community will gather across the nation to remember disabled victims of filicide–disabled people murdered by their family members or caregivers.

In the past five years, over forty people with disabilities have been murdered by their parents.

In the year since our last vigil, our community has lost at least ten more victims.

In January of 2014, two more disabled people were lost in murder-suicides at the hands of their parents: Damien Veraghen, age nine, and Vincent Phan, age twenty four.

These acts are horrific enough on their own. But they exist in the context of a larger pattern. A parent kills their disabled child. The media portrays these murders as justifiable and inevitable due to the “burden” of having a disabled person in the family. If the parent stands trial, they are given sympathy and  comparatively lighter sentences, if they are sentenced at all. The victims is disregarded, blamed for their own murder at the hands of the person they should have been able to trust the most, and ultimately forgotten. And then the cycle repeats.

For the last three years, ASAN, ADAPT, Not Dead Yet, the National Council on Independent Living, the Disability Rights Education & Defense Fund, and other disability rights organizations have come together to mourn those losses, bring awareness to these tragedies, and demand justice and equal protection under the law for all people with disabilities. On March 1st, we will come together again, and we ask you to join us. So far, twenty three volunteers have signed up to serve as site coordinators for vigils across the country.

Current vigil sites:

Sacramento, CA
Shyanna Mendes, asansacramento@gmail.com

San Francisco Bay Area, CA
Brent White, brent@alacosta-acat.com
Rob Gross, rgross@esoftltd.com

Fort Myers, FL
Suzanne Fast, sfeaal@yahoo.com

Atlanta, GA
R. Larkin Taylor-Parker, larkin92@comcast.net

Chicago, IL
Carrie Kaufman, CKaufman@accessliving.org

Boston, MA
Andrew De Carlo, ardecarlo@gmail.com

Baltimore, MD
Amanda Mills, muchbrighter2@gmail.com

Towson, MD
Rhonda Greenhaw, rjgwood@gmail.com

Houghton, MI
Caroline Maye, cnmaye@mtu.edu

Missoula, MT
Mike Beers, mbeers@summitilc.org

Robbinsville, NC
Carol Sutton, mountain_crafter@msn.com

Lincoln, NE
Sharon DaVanport, sdavanport@gmail.com

Woodbridge, NJ
Evelyn Delgado, joyzee_devil@yahoo.com

Reno, NV
Brianna Hammon, csdlibrary@gmail.com

New City, NY
Jason Ross, jason_s_ross@yahoo.com

New York City, NY
Cara Liebowitz, caraliebowitz@gmail.com

Rochester, NY
Diane Coleman, dcoleman@notdeadyet.org

Syracuse, NY
Alex Umstead, aumstead@syr.edu

Eugene, OR
Amber Perry, asperamber@gmail.com

Portland, OR
Theresa Soto, tisoto@gmail.com

Pittsburgh, PA
Lauren Stuparitz, lestuparitz@gmail.com

Seattle, WA
Matt Young, indigowombat@yahoo.com

Washington, DC
Melissa Mooney, mmooney6@masonlive.gmu.edu

Halifax, Nova Scotia 
Leah Andrews, landrews@nexicom.net

Virtual vigil, for those unable to attend a local vigil.

 

 

 

 

This entry was posted in Autistic Community and Allies, Disability Rights and Neurodiversity, Events, Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.
Skip to top

More information